Posted by: Jenn Deering Davis | May 12, 2010

Jenn Deering Davis, Ph.D.

I can’t believe I haven’t posted anything to this blog about finally being done with my PhD! I defended my dissertation a couple months ago, took some time to make a few revisions, and officially submitted my final paperwork on April 1. I defended my prospectus on February 28, 2008, so it took just over two years to complete the dissertation.

My full dissertation – ‘The Modern, Mobile Me: An Exploration of Smartphones, Being Always On, and Our Relationship with Work in the United States’ – is posted on Scribd if you’d like to read it. I’ll write more about it and my conclusions here in the coming months.

Overall, I’m quite pleased with how the paper turned out. I think chapter six needs a bit more work to be a truly powerful and useful treatise on what I’m calling “the bastardization of balance”, but it’s a great start. And more than anything, I’m just so glad to be done. It’s been a long and busy few years (not sure why I thought founding a startup while working on my dissertation was a good idea), but now that it’s over, I’m feeling like I really earned this. And that’s pretty awesome.

-Jenn Deering Davis, Ph.D.

Categories

