Posted by: Jenn Deering Davis | March 17, 2008

Network fatigue update – my students speak

I learned some interesting things with the informal poll I conducted with 50 of my undergraduate students today.

First, all of them have cell phones. Duh. But what is more interesting is that more than half of them have web-enabled cell phones, and many of those are Blackberries, iPhones and other PDAs/smartphones.

Second, they almost all use Facebook. More than 90% of the students in class today have Facebook accounts. Almost half are also on MySpace (and none of them were only on MySpace). A couple are on Xanga and Friendster, as well. Almost half have YouTube accounts (though I don’t know how often they actually upload videos).

In terms of network fatigue, this group really doesn’t seem to be affected. They just aren’t using that many of these sites. Several students don’t have accounts on any social sites at all. And only a couple students were on more than Facebook, MySpace and YouTube. A few have Flickr accounts. Only one student said he has accounts on more than four sites.

We didn’t have time for much discussion or elaboration on these topics in class today, but I am looking forward to learning more about how my students use these tools. In fact, if any of those students are reading this now, I invite them to comment with their perspectives.

Categories

