Posted by: Jenn Deering Davis | December 3, 2007

IM as interruption – or not

A recent article in the Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication explore some of the more productive uses of instant messaging. This is an interesting article for me because it reveals some important issues related to being always-on, and doesn’t simply focus on the negative aspects, such as interruption, work/life balance, goofing off, etc… I’ll be getting into these issues more very soon, but I wanted to get things started by pointing out this article.

Over on the Effusia blog, Hayes has posted a few of his thoughts on this issue, from the perspective of someone deeply vested in the organizational uses and implications of IM. For now, read his post and I’ll post my own thoughts very soon.

Categories

